Better than salt money

Work like you were living in the early days of a better nation

Assholes

3 Comments

A bunch of doctors are petitioning to have a very effective painkiller revoked: It’s “too scary”

Assholes.  I was talking with a friend yesterday.  Said friend has more pain issues than I do.  She gets grief from her doctors because she want’s drugs, “I’m afraid you might be bordering on drug-seeking behavior”.  I have semi-chronic pain. When I am running low on my drugs, and waiting for my refill to show up I am nervous, antsy.  I start to hoard my drugs.  Why?  Because today’s pain is more bearable than the idea of not being able to deal with what might come tomorrow.

When I broke my ankle I was suffering from that.  My usual drugs aren’t the sort to deal with that kind of pain (though serious anti-inflammatories do help in the early stages of that sort of injury), and I was doing the math.  I needed about a dozen more pills than I had. What I needed was more Percocet (I am a poor metabolizer: Vicodin gives me very little pain relief, and all the side effects.  Percocet works just fine).

So I went to the doctor.  I told him my dilemma, what I expected to use (about ten more doses than I had) and what I’d like (about 15 more pills, so I’d not be in the “can’t stop my pain, it might get worse).  He went away, and came back with a prescription.  In a very stern tone he said, “This is the only time we can do this,” as he handed me a ticket for 40 doses.  Almost three times what I wanted (and almost four times what I’d told him I expected to use).

When I am in pain, damn fucking straight I’m going to exhibit “drug-seeking” behavior.  I’d be a fool not to seek drugs in that situation. Which is why this pisses me off:

‘You’re talking about a drug that’s somewhere in the neighborhood of five times more potent than what we’re dealing with now,’ says Dr. Stephen Anderson, a Washington emergency room physician who is not part of the most recent petition to the FDA about the drug. ‘I’m five times more concerned, solely based on potency.’ The concerns echoed by all groups are broadly about the drug’s potency and abuse potential.”

Five times more effective means less strain on the liver (if it’s related to Codeine/Vicodin, the work of making it able to kill pain is done in the liver).  So a lesser dose means either the same effect for less strain or for those who are at the upper bound of being able to tolerate the drugs they need to get through the day the possibility of being able to move from “barely functional” to more completely abled.

Could it be abused?  Sure.  Anything can be abused, but a huge part of the present growth of heroin is the sheer expense of prescription drugs.

So to say this drug is “too powerful” when the ones we have now already seem to be creating the new surge in heroin addiction is facile.

Assholes.

3 thoughts on “Assholes

  1. website for the med is here, with a link to full prescribing info as well. http://www.zohydro.com/

    my pharmacist is asleep, but having looked at the basics, the people who are protesting this are either idiots, or stand to gain by blocking this product.

    acetaminophen free, extended release hydrocodone tablets in a variety of strengths wold be a great addition to any competent pain management doctor’s tool box.

    but what do i know? i’ve only been in the medical field for over 20 years and suffer from chronic pain, courtesy of Uncle Sam.

  2. It’s not just that it’s “too powerful.” It’s also being released in crushable form, which makes it child’s play to crush and inject. There’s absolutely no good reason that Zogenix didn’t release it in a safer form. And now those assholes say it’s going to be three years before they can do so.

  3. Yeah. If I had a different pain, and if hydrocodone worked for me I’d be really glad of this; so would my physicians.

    I think foolish, and somewhat free of chronic pain is the answer to the idiots/profiteers question.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 813 other followers