Better than salt money

Work like you were living in the early days of a better nation

Cycles

Leave a comment

It’s spring, or summer, or something.  Seasons on this coast are less defined than they are on the Calif. Coast (contra those who say, “Calif. doesn’t have seasons”, we do.  What we don’t have [in the densely populated parts of the state is freezing temps and snow).  Back in late March my grapes had “bud break“.  This was a bit of a problem because the nighttime temps were still falling below freezing, but the garage (in which I overwinter it, since it’s in a pot, not the ground: and since it’s self-stocked, not grafted, it’s not going in the ground.  I don’t want it to suffer from Phylloxera) doesn’t have enough light to sustain the plant.

So it was in and out, and in out, for a while.  Slowly the leaves did their thing (A lot more slowly than in Calif.).  When the temps were regularly in the 40s I moved them (and the etrog) outside, as well as the “Peruvian Daffodils” (which are a lily),  and bought some oregano, and basil.  A couple of weeks ago I put some za’atar seeds in the grape (maybe one of them has come up, more go in today when I leave for work), and some garlic chives in the etrog.

So my morning rhythm is back to what I am more used to.  I get up, walk MBF to the train, get some coffee, and examine the garden.  In the afternoon I go out and look at them again, watering as needed.  The olive in the front I check when as I come and go. It overwintered a bit hard, but they are hardy, and there is lots of nodal activity, so I suspect I’ll be training/shaping it in short order and it will again be dense.  Next winter I hope it does better (since this sort of hardship can’t be all that good for a bonsai).  I may move the pomegranate out in a little while. It’s much more a classical bonsai, and wants more sun, but also more water.  If I skip a couple of days it’s in a sad way.

I’ve been having some minor problems with scale insects.  The etrog had some, and there was what I think may have been a Parthenolecanium corni on the grape yesterday.  But Safer’s soap, and an attentive routine means I am not likely to have any serious problem with them hurting the plants.

I don’t know if the tarragon managed to overwinter.  I was afraid I’d terribly underwatered the pot (I didn’t want the roots to rot from being overwet).  I may have, for the tarragon, but the grape seems quite happy; if I’m reading the signs right (I’ll be more sure in another couple of days) it’s putting out flowers, so (for the first time in about five years) I ought to have some actual grapes off my grapevine.

 

 

Leave a comment